top of page

Live & Unreleased: Twisted Leech

Another song from the as-of-yet dead In Limbo release, Twisted Leech was a song conceived in drop-D. I wrote the main riff a couple years back and originally envisioned the song to have multiple layers of lyrics being sung in parallel to each other, adding some much appreciated chaos to the feel of the song. I actually still have the original recording I did using GarageBand which features some mumbo-jumbo I made up during recording and some unimaginative drum tracks I just threw in there. Here, have a listen:


Now, it quickly became clear that we would not be able to play it with the multiple voices, so we threw out that idea and other parts of the song and just kept the main riff. I believe it was Laci who wrote the guitar part that became the chorus and István added the loftier bridge part. The outro was added later after we accidentally did something similar during one of our rehearsals.

The lyrics tackle religious bigotry from the perspective of an actual deity, the sheer absurdity of lesser beings trying to appeal to an all-knowing, all-powerfull force that just could not give a rat's ass about the worshipers it considers to be less noteworthy than even simple moths around a campfire. The religious zealots and bigots have only their own hate and rage to fuel them by trying to appeal to their god, but the god could not care less about what is being said and done in its name.

Posing with my Gretsch in 2017.

This version was recorded at our rehearsal space in 2013. I fuck up the lyrics on multiple occasions, and in general the whole thing feels shaky, but it was fun recording and playing it.


Twisted Leech (unreleased)

I watch you get drawn to the fire

I'm not the one you think you admire

You're so small with a painful desire

And as I watch you get drawn to the fire

I will crush you like a moth

All you've got is this sea of rage and this sky of hate you breathe

Why should I care?

Well I probably am the biggest liar

Dressed up in pretentious attire

So you worship my blood entire

And as you help my dark plan transpire

I will crush you like a moth

All you've got is this sea of rage and this sky of hate you breathe

Why should I care? You're just a fucking speck on the ground

Don't spread your wings

I don't hear you scream

Don't spread your wings

You don't have to

Don't spread your wings

I can't hear you scream

Don't spread your wings

You don't need to

The more I receive the less I'll tire

Always offer more than I require

My image you blindly aspire

Up and up you climb even higher

Still I will crush you like a moth

All you've got is this sea of rage and this sky of hate you breathe

Why should I care? You're just a fucking speck on the ground

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page