top of page

Story Behind the Song: Love Song

Ah, Love Song. You syncopated, full-on screaming beast.

This was one of the first songs I showed to István. The first version had the heavy main riff, and the drum and bass only verse. The guitar in the chorus, the bridge with the slide and the outro were added by István and we recorded a very early version at something we called The Spiral Sessions, where we used drum loops to play over, with István doing the guitars and I played the bass sections. There will be a separate post about these sessions including recordings and some images soon.

The song had multiple sources of inspiration. The title was an homage to the untitled and unlisted last song on Alice In Chains' EP SAP. The line 'Here I come' was a direct nod to Stone Temple Pilots' excellent Sex Type Thing, while the lyrics themselves detail sexual fantasies.

Now, early on I told István I did not want to write songs that had never-ending, self-appreciating solos. He wasn't a fan of the idea as he really enjoyed playing them, but we had a few covers where he could act that out, so in the end it was not such a big issue. But for Love Song I explicitly told him I want a really fucked-up sounding part in there, citing Nine Inch Nails and their totally over-the-top guitar sounds that you could not find anywhere else as inspiration. He practically improvised something with a water glass used as his makeshift slide for the first take, and I absolutely loved it. He had a hard time reproducing it though, and it took quite some time before we could nail the progression and sound we used on the recording on dysnomia.

Also a first for razordoll was the long wailing scream that was mega hard to do in the studio.

This is also our only song that has a drum and bass only part for the verse. I tried to introduce another song with similar structure I titled Ball and Chain, but Laci said it was too similar to Love Song in structure, so we never really got around to play it.

We played this song live on practically all of our shows and it is great for anger-release when screaming at the top of my voice.


Love Song (from 2009's dysnomia)

I want to watch you slowly undress

Turn around and shake that little ass

I want to see you down on your knees

Begging for more, please, please, please

I want to see you down on all four

I want to toss you around on the floor

I want you to hold your breath

While I go in, deeper

I’m breaking you in tonight

I’m breaking you in tonight

I’m breaking you in tonight

Tonight

Here I come!

I also want you to bend back

Close your eyes and grab the end of the bed

I so want to ride your little rack

While you are still warm and wet

(Here I come)

(Here I come)

(Here I come)

(Here I come)

I’m breaking you in tonight

I’m breaking you in tonight

I’m breaking you in tonight

Tonight

I’m breaking you in tonight

I’m breaking you in tonight

I’m breaking you in tonight

Tonight

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page