top of page

Story Behind the Song: Unleash the Underdog

The music of the last song on our debut EP dysnomia was composed by István and Laci. We rarely played this song live as the second guitar I was supposed to be playing was very difficult to play while singing.

I have a list of song titles that I keep adding to whenever I find something I like, and then when the next song idea is ready, I choose from the list to name the song. Unleash the Underdog was on this list. I don't quite remember how I thought about it, but I really liked how unleash and underdog both start with 'un'. Disregard, Destroy, Defy was conceived in a similar fashion.

Laci and me playing at Club Noir in 2013, our first show with Zolka and Ákos.

After recording a preliminary take of the song without any vocals I was listening to the recording in my car and I was trying to sing along, make up some melodies and whatnot. I wrote the first part in the car, and when I stopped at a red light i quickly jotted down 'Feel it eating at your skin, Feel it burning from within, Feel it carving out your eyes, Just a cancer in your mind'. I completed the lyrics later that night after I got home.

Unleash the Underdog was the only song that had its lyrics changed while in the studio. While recording the last part, before the solo kicks in, it was suggested to me that there was something missing. I wrote the 'I’m not trying to get you back/I’m just trying to forget' part in the recording booth, and István seemed to like it, so we kept it.


Unleash the Underdog (from 2009's dysnomia)

Feel it eating at your skin

Feel it burning from within

Feel it carving out your eyes

Just a cancer in your mind

(Get it on, get it on, get it on)

Come creeping, come crawling

Stop begging I said

You got to stop calling me now

Come creeping, come crawling

It’s over

Feel it shred your broken dreams

Feel it feast on your twisted screams

Feel it grinding through your spine

Just a cancer in your mind

(Get it on, get it on, get it on)

Come creeping, come crawling

Stop begging I said

You got to stop calling me now

Come creeping, come crawling

It’s over

I’m falling

Out of love, my demon love

Out of love, my demon love

(I’m not trying to get you back)

Out of love,

(I’m just trying to forget)

My demon love

(I’m not trying to get you back)

Out of love,

I’m falling…

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page